DUI DWI DRE: Impaired Driving Lawyer
Breath and Blood
The following unofficial information is provided by:
Indiana Department of Toxicology
550 West 16th Street-
Indianapolis , Indiana
Warning: This is NOT a government web site. The information provided herein has NOT been provided by a government. This information has been provided by a lawyer or attorney or student, for the purpose of providing basic information about the laws and regulations enacted by a government and the government offices that apply laws and regulations, and for the purpose of encouraging discussion and facilitating proper legal challenges related to the application of laws and regulations made by government. Citizens always have the right to challenge government. Citizens need independent information not provided by government about government offices, phone numbers, locations, and their services or lack thereof. Please note that the information provided may not be up to date. It is your responsibility to meet with a lawyer or attorney in person to get complete advice. Information provided by some government sites may also be sometimes out of date, sometimes incomplete, or sometimes focused on protection of government politicians, officers, policy initiatives, and interests. It is essential that you retain and instruct an independent lawyer or attorney to represent YOUR interests and inform you accordingly.
1939: Indiana becomes the first state to enact a law setting a blood-alcohol level for drunk driving. (% 0.15 BAC).
1967: Indiana reduces the legal BAC to 0.10 and requires blood-alcohol tests.
1989: Judges are allowed to order ignition interlock devices on vehicles of convicted drunken drivers. The devices require an instant breath test before the vehicle will start.
1990: Bills to ban open alcoholic beverage containers in vehicles and to lower the legal blood-alcohol level for drunken driving to 0.08 are introduced but not approved.
1994: Open containers in the passenger area are made illegal if the driver has a blood-alcohol level of 0.0 or higher. Drivers are banned from drinking while driving.
1996: "Zero tolerance" is established for drivers younger than 21, making it illegal to drive with even a small amount of alcohol in the blood.
1997: Consecutive sentences are allowed for drunken drivers who kill more than one person in a crash.
1999: Indiana requires at least a five-day jail term or 30 days of community service for a second-time drunken-driving offender and at least 10 days in jail or 60 days of community service for a third-time drunken driver. An enhance penalty is created for someone with a BAC of 0.15 or higher.
2001: Law changed to lower the BAC for drunken driving to 0.10 to 0.08.
| Privacy |
WARNING: All information contained herein is provided for the purpose of providing basic information only and should not be construed as formal legal advice. The authors disclaim any and all liability resulting from reliance upon such information. You are strongly encouraged to seek professional legal advice before relying upon any of the information contained herein. Legal advice should be sought directly from a properly retained lawyer or attorney.
Warning: This is NOT a government web site.